Punctuation

I know nothing about punctuation. After 35 years of writing for radio, I can’t write English anymore, I can only write Radio. And I don’t even care.

I did very well in English class and I used to know punctuation. Then I started writing for radio. Lots of these: …  Or even:  ……….  Commas thrown in where verbal pauses are needed whether it is English or not. Other commas removed for the reverse reason, no pause wanted. (Note: I did put a comma there. I do remember some of it. Or should that have been a dash?)

I may ask my wife, an editor, to look at this stuff and fix it up. That’s a come down for an editor, really. That’s a proofreaders’ job. If you call in an editor, you’re not just gonna get punctuation changes. Oh, no, you’re opening a whole ball o’ wax there, baby! Discussions about clauses and spelling and hyphenation and wording and rewording and then it’s, “Hey, that’s not an edit! That’s a re-write.” I may reconsider the idea about having my wife look at this stuff. I don’t think I can afford her rates anyway.

So, for now, let’s leave it at this…

I know nothing about punctuation. Not anymore. And I don’t even care. Deal with it.

comments are disabled

