Where’s My Comment?

“I can’t believe I’m the first one to comment on this blog…” You’re not.

“Steve, you don’t have any comments. Is anybody reading your blog?” Yes. A surprising number of people are.

“I’ve commented on several of your blog posts but I’m not going to comment on any more until I know you are reading the comments.” I am. Now you know.

“How long does it take to get moderated?” You’ve been moderated. (Was it good for you?)

Yup, I’m reading the comments people make to this blog. Nope, I’m not approving any comments so they don’t appear on your screen.

Why?

I did radio talk shows for years. Those shows were a two-way street. I talked, you listened. You talked, I listened. And everybody else heard us. That was your chance. I don’t do that format here. As explained in my very first post here, this blog is for me. You can read it if you want. Or not. You can send me a comment here or email me. I’ll read it. But everybody else won’t see it. Been there, done that. I write this blog for me, because I want to. I read your comments – for me, because I want to. And that’s as far as it goes. I don’t let the comments go public, because I don’t want to. I write other blogs under other names and I let the comments go public on some but not on others, because that’s how I want to do it.

If I get around to it, I sometimes respond to a comment by email. It would be nice to respond to all of them by email but I don’t because I don’t have time. I have read other writers’ blogs and observed how good they are at responding to each comment. And then responding to the commenter’s response to their response. I know from my radio experience that this is a very good way to connect with your audience. And so I applaud these writers for being very good at this blogging thing and at promotion. I do a little bit of promotion for this blog but not much. I want to spend my time writing the next thing rather than writing to someone about something I’ve already written. I have other things to do with the rest of my time.

Remember, I’m retired. Part-time writer is my title. I write other blogs and other stuff too and I do other things besides write. (Part-time beach bum is my other title.) I write what I want, when I want and post it where I want. That’s why you only see things on this blog once in a while. I write a lot more stuff. But it gets posted under other names in other places. No, I won’t tell you where because I don’t want to.

I know this is not the way to market a blog. But I’m doing it this way regardless. Because I want to.

Any comments?

comments are disabled

